Organ Recital Friday, July 8th at 12.30 pm

We open with Herbert Howells’s early masterpiece, the first Psalm Prelude, before resuming the series of six fugues by Schumann on the musical notes that correspond to Bach’s name (B flat, A, C and B natural in our system). There’s a gentle one and a sprightly dancing one, and the recital ends with the very grand final one. Before Fugue no 6 we shall hear Elgar’s late Sonata no 2, originally a suite for Brass Band (the Severn Suite) and later arranged as an organ sonata, with Elgar’s permission, by Sir Ivor Atkins, who was the long-serving organist of Worcester Cathedral. Not a masterpiece like the Sonata in G of 1895, but well worth an occasional hearing.


Psalm prelude set 1 no 1 (op 32/i)

Herbert HOWELLS 1892 - 1983


Six fugues on B-A-C-H op 60 – no 3, no 5

Robert SCHUMANN 1810 – 56


Sonata no 2 op 87a (1932)

From the Severn Suite for brass band (1930)

Arranged by Sir Ivor Atkins, with permission

1. Introduction   2. Toccata   3. Fugue – cadenza - coda 

Sir Edward ELGAR 1857 – 1934


Six fugues on B-A-C-H op 60 – no 6 Double fugue in 5 parts

Robert SCHUMANN 1810 - 56